Top of the morning to you


I’ve discovered that despite the fact I would love to sleep in when on ‘vacation’ it is just impossible.  I wake up right about the time my alarm would normally go off, and there is no going back to the warm cuddly land of sleep.

I get up, turn off the alarm (so it doesn’t wake my husband up when it finally reaches the time to go off), and quietly leave the room.  The problem is, I don’t want to be up at that point.  I want to be curled up in bed.  I don’t relish quiet alone time like many of my friends.  I don’t crave silent moments to read, ponder thoughts, and meditate.  I do take the time to read and do my devotions, but my favorite devotions are in the evening with the kids while we read aloud and have question and answer time.  Apparently I thrive in the loud wild times of life.  Anyway, once I sneak out of the room I plop on the couch wondering how long it will be until I feel like going to Starbucks to get a cup of happiness.  I am generally unsure of what I should be doing.  I don’t have anywhere I need to be immediately and I don’t have anyone asking me for anything immediately.  Sure, I could get up and jump right on chores so I have the whole day free…but honestly, it’s just not gonna happen.  I guess I need deadlines?

I have something inside me that refuses to respond until the final hour has arrived.  It has always annoyed me.  Now, mixed with the inability to sleep in I am noticing it even more.  I’m not sure it’s actual procrastination.  It’s just that I need something to spur me into action.  I need to feel that my efforts are required, desired, and appreciated.  Why do I need that sort of inspiration?  Who knows.

So, this morning when I couldn’t sleep in I woke the kids up.  I let them eat breakfast and we started in on the chore list.  I gave them a deadline to work towards.  Here’s hoping they are better than I am.

Leave a Reply

