Not Sleeping Beauty


I am terrible at sleeping.  I get tired, but can’t fall asleep.  I just don’t know how to shut my brain off.  My mom used to tell me to get up and read the Bible and Satan would put me to sleep.  (Yes, it sounds scary, but I admit to reading my Bible often when I just can’t sleep). Once I fall asleep I wake up easily if there is a noise in the house.  With three children and a dog – there is always noise happening.  I dislike taking sleeping pills because I’m here alone with the kids and I worry what would happen if there was an emergency and I was all drugged out.  I can just imagine it…”Mom, I think the house is on fire.”  “Shut it!  I’m sleeping!” or something equally pleasant.

My husband works nights so I generally get the bed to myself.  It’s glorious because I don’t like being touched or having anyone too close causing too much body heat when I’m sleeping.  (I’m telling you – I get that I’m spoiled and selfish – no need to point it out).  But, when he is here and I try to go to bed…he snores.    I love him.  I really do.  But, there comes a point in my semi awake/semi asleep state that I lose my ability to recognize love, reason, or kindness.   It’s true.  I am willing to admit it.  When the snoring starts –  I  often punch him as hard as I can and then roll over super quick and try to beat the snoring by falling asleep before it starts again.  It’s a good thing I married such a giant because he basically doesn’t wake up – he just rolls over.  3 out of 4 times it works too.  I’m not saying anyone else should try this method.  I’m just saying it works for me.  

Maybe part of the issue with his snoring is I’m jealous.  He falls asleep in less than 30 seconds and I’m left there to hear his breathing get deeper and feel his body relax into the mattress next to me all the while realizing that as the moments tick by I’m missing out on more sleep!  I hate the routine of laying down, not falling asleep, looking at the clock, realizing I have 30 minutes less to sleep than I did when I went to bed, trying to calm my mind, looking at the clock and then realizing I’ve lost another 30 minutes…and repeat.    

I can’t sleep in the car when we travel.  I’m thankful that my kids all can.  My husband will let me drive and immediately fall asleep in the passenger seat.  What the heck??  Totally unfair, right?

I need to figure out a better way to fall asleep.  Some sort of relaxing exercise before bed (less physical than punching my husband while he snores) would probably be good.

 

One thought on “Not Sleeping Beauty

  1. I am exactly the same. I recently went for a sleep study but didn’t sleep enough to get any data. How are you supposed to sleep when you are hooked up to a million wires and there are noises everywhere. I would love to know what it feels like to go to bed, fall asleep and wake up 7 hours later.

Leave a Reply

