Memorial Day


It’s Memorial Day weekend again.  I realize that many people think of it as “National BBQ Weekend”.  It actually makes me a sad that most people have no idea why they get the day off or what sacrifices have been made for them.

I am so thankful for the men and women who are around the world fighting to protect our freedom.  They are willing to put their lives on the line so I can  live in American and have the right to complain about my Starbucks coffee and my cable not having my favorite basketball team playing all season.  Memorial Day reminds me what a self centered person I am.  I should say thank you more often.  I know I should.   So, thanks to my brother in law Sean, my brother in law Luke, my husband’s cousins John and Matt, and all the others out there who have served our country and sacrificed so much for our daily freedom.

“To be prepared for war is one of the most effective means of preserving peace.” – George Washington

 

One thought on “Memorial Day

Leave a Reply

