Graduation


My oldest is graduating from the 8th grade tomorrow.  Unbelieveable.  I still think of him like this:

Turns out – he’s not that little guy on the right anymore.  Instead he’s a tall, handsome man-child who will soon be off doing things and not needing his mama.

I find it odd that I 100% remember my 8th grade graduation.  I remember my high school years very well.  I know how he’s feeling excited/scared about moving forward in life and that there are so many things that really start to ‘matter’ now.  Grades, decisions, and friends become huge.  I spend hours praying over this boy.   I know he is a gentleman.  He is kind.  He is smart.  I just want him to use those things in his life.

I really can’t wait to see what he will become, who he will marry, and what a wonderful family he will have.  I realize there is so much to look forward to, but I can’t help looking back too.  I have loved every part of being a mom.  There have been trials, and moments I’ve cried, screamed, and wanted to pull my hair out.  But, even those I look back on as good memories of our life.

Truthfully, I don’t remember getting any older. I don’t know where the time has gone.  I am just thankful that I have more to spend. ❤

3 thoughts on “Graduation

  1. My oldest is heading into eighth grade next year, and I often wonder “How did that happen so fast? When did we speed up time?” Strange gig, this motherhood thing.

    And, as a friend of mine told me recently — “Sure we may be getting older, but we look exactly the same!” Right or wrong, I’m clinging to that. 🙂

    Also, I just nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award” here (http://wp.me/p2du4c-a1). Please don’t feel obligated to play along if you don’t want to — it’s just my way of saying how much I like and relate to your blog.

Leave a Reply

