The 6th Love Language


For those of you who haven’t read it – one of the best books I’ve read since I’ve been married is “The 5 Love Languages” book.   It’s really great.  My husband and I both learned so much about each other just reading this book and applying it to our relationship.  The five love languages are as follows:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts of Service
  5. Physical Touch

My husband’s top two love languages are my bottom two and vice versa.  It was interesting to learn that and be able to realize that he’s not trying to annoy me by being lame.  He’s just different than me. 😀

I’ve also applied it to my kids.  So interesting to see how each of them loves others in their own way.  I have heard there is a book specifically for figuring out your kids’ love language too, but I got the point from the original.

I fully agree and support this idea of five love languages, but I think I would have to add just one.  SARCASM.  You know it’s true.  Someone who uses sarcasm pretty much uses it all the time.  But, those who understand and share it are those who are loved.  The truth is that my husband and I feed off each other’s sarcasm.  We make each other laugh.  We’re awesome like that.  I can’t imagine being unable to be my awesome self because I was worried that my husband would be crushed by my comments.  I know he feels the same.   There are times we laugh until we cry.  I’m sure we’re not as ‘fancy’ or ‘mature’ as some people think we should be.  But, people like us.  And, really – they should.

2 thoughts on “The 6th Love Language

  1. Kelly J says:

    I love your sarcasm and Joel and I share the same trait. Knowing how to love each other in the way the other needs is so important in a successful marriage.

    Go on with your awesome self now and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

