Investing Parent style


I realize that most people have investments (in their 401K or whatever).  This is good.  This is smart.

But, today I’m talking about investing as a parent.  You know what I mean.  We spend time and money on things we think will make our children and/or families better.

We invest time (and money) in to music lessons, sports, drama performances, school activities, church activities and so much more.  I cannot even begin to tell you how many hours we’ve spent in the gym watching, coaching and keeping the score book at basketball games.  And, our youngest two are just beginning to participate in such things.   As a mom I think these hours and dollars are well spent.  I think that these things enrich the lives of my kids.

We also invest time and money into other things like braces, dental work, ENT issues, dermatology consults, etc.  None of these things seem to be fully covered by insurance, but we continue to pay for these services because we feel that to do so makes our children’s lives just that much better.

Recently, one of my beloved children asked me if I would pay them to do the chores I’d told them to do.  The conversation went something like this:

Me:  Please finish cleaning that for me so I can go get some other work done.

Child: Uh, other people get paid to do chores.  I don’t even get allowance.

Me:  Okay.  I will pay you to do that.  I will also give you an invoices for services rendered on my part.

Child (warily):  What?

Me: Cost of a room for you to sleep in probably $200 a month, food probably about $100 a month, braces a couple grand, basketball shoes $150, new basketball shorts $30,…

Child: Never mind.  I’ll just go finish that.

Ah, I love parenting.

Leave a Reply

