I mean it


November is considered the month to give thanks.  I like to pretend it’s thanks that I was born in November, but as we all know, it’s more about being thankful for our blessings.  Recently I’ve been noticing a trend at our house.  We say things we don’t mean and it makes us sound like we are not thankful.  We have decided to start working on it.

Here is a list of the first three phrases I know we say at our house and I’m so thankful we don’t mean:

  1. When we say ‘there’s nothing to eat’ at my house – it generally means ‘there is nothing that sounds good or that doesn’t take a lot of effort for me to make’.  We have never been close to starving no matter how low our cabinet stock has been.
  2. When we say ‘I’m freezing’ we really mean ‘My bed was so cozy and warm.  I’d rather be there than getting up to get dressed.’ We do not have to wear coats in our house and we have blankets on our beds.
  3. When we say ‘I don’t have anything to wear’ we mean ‘I wish I’d washed my favorite things to wear today’ or ‘I would rather have something different to wear’.  We all have things to put on our bodies, and we even have people who are willing to give us their perfectly good things so we don’t have to always purchase something new.
Leave a Reply

