Home Ownership


So, I feel like I am basically an expert on owning a home now that I’ve owned one for 3 months. HAHA  But, really – owning has been so exciting for us.  I thought I’d share a few of my favorite things we’ve discovered since we moved.

We have always worked hard and we have always wanted our own home.  Now that it’s a reality it’s been so FUN to do things that would seem lame and hard before.  Yard work is not my gift (see previous post about my plant reaper status).  Yet, to see our yard looking better day by day (mostly thanks to my husband) is really exciting.  And, I’ve even ventured out to help a bit by pulling weeds, throwing down some grass seed, and watering.  I have to say I have really enjoyed the Xhose.

xhose_thumb

I know.  It seems silly, but it really is awesome.  It’s light, it doesn’t kink, and it shrinks so small when it’s not on.  Love it!  Wish I had another one for the other side of the house.  I am a firm believer that if I have things that WORK I am more willing to do things.  My husband knows this and so he splurged on the hose and it was a genius move.

House cleaning has become much easier too.  I HATED cleaning our house before.  We had so much stuff and we had zero place to store it.  Now that we have a place for everything I can easily put things away and keep everything looking nice and neat.   It’s glorious.

My favorite new cleaning product I’ve purchased is the Goo Gone oven and grill cleaner. It is amazing.  Our downstairs oven looked like someone had baked a pie without a pan or something and then add cat hair. I’m sorry was this a cat pie?  I don’t even understand!  But, the whole thing was black.  You couldn’t see through the window because of how gross it was.  And, I was scared to cook in it for fear it would catch on fire.  We tried some other oven cleaner and the disgusting black stuff did not budge despite multiple applications.  My brilliant husband bought this for his grill and decided to try it on our stove as well.  It literally melted through the gunk in less than 5 minutes.  I just wiped it out and völva!! the stove looked brand new!

stove

(Disclaimer: I did have to clean the window twice)

I had used the Magic Eraser before we moved, but I am still amazed by it and thought it should be featured here in this post of things I love. So, here’s to the magic of the Magic Eraser.  I keep them on hand for bathrooms, kitchens, walls, and pretty much everything else.  (left side – original banquette bench when we moved in the house before Magic Eraser.  right side – after a little Magic Eraser was used. A-MAZ-ING)

 

bench

I’ve been told recently I really need to start working harder at keeping my blog up to date.  I will work on it. 🙂
 

 

Leave a Reply

